Skip to main content
Home > 2016-18 Round 2 BRN Communities

2016-18 Round 2 BRN Communities

Northern Region

Southern Region

North West Region

Cape Barren Island

Nicholls Rivulet

Squeeking Point

Upper Scamander 

Campania/Native Corners

Sisters Beach


Dolphin Sands

West Coast (focus on Zeehan)


Sandford/South Arm

Cowrie Point to Rocky Cape



King Island

Jackeys Marsh

New Norfolk Area





Greens Beach/Kelso

Tasman Peninsular- Eagle Hawk Neck,

Koonya, Nubeena and Taranna




Please note the regions listed in the tables refer to Tasmania Fire Service regional boundaries.

These communities have been selected using an evidence-based approach:

  • A list of communities was prepared with input from the State Fire Management Council based on the bushfire risk across Tasmania
  • This list was then compared to a list of existing and future Tasmania Fire Service Community Bushfire Protection Planning priorities
  • Consultation has also taken place with Tasmania Fire Service Regional Chiefs and District Staff to determine communities
  • Other criteria includes community connectedness, TFS capacity and consultation with communities.

The Bushfire-Ready Neighbourhoods program is working with a number of other Tasmanian communities on a case by case basis and this depends on the Community Development Teams capacity.

For more information about how communities are selected for the program and if your community can become involved please contact your regional Community Development Officer.

Round 1 communities during 2014-16 were:

  • Flinders Island
  • Lachlan
  • Sisters Beach / Rocky Cape
  • Scamander / Beaumaris
  • Port Arthur / Nubeena / Koonya
  • Strahan
  • Blackstone Heights / Travellers Rest
  • South Hobart
  • Weegena
  • Welborough
  • Lenah Valley
  • Tam O’Shanter Area
  • Longley / Leslie Vale
  • Jacky’s Marsh
  • Pelverata
  • Golden Valley